Summer Series Starts Out with a Bang

What We Learned from Our Friends at Bloomberg

In PRSA Silicon Valley (PRSASV)’s first installment of our summer media series events, we brought together a gaggle of Bloomberg reporters for “Inside the Newsroom: Bloomberg TV, Bloomberg Businessweek, Bloomberg News.”  The event offered a unique opportunity to get inside the heads of our counterparts, as they divulged the ins and outs of their jobs, their relationship with PR pros and yes, even their pain points.

Hosted at Microsoft, the event drew more than 100 attendees and kicked-off with a one hour networking reception, followed by a panel program and audience Q&A with Emily Chang, Anchor of Bloomberg West, Bloomberg Television; Jon Erlichman, Senior West Coast Correspondent, Bloomberg Television; Rich Jaroslovsky, Technology Columnist and Reviewer, Bloomberg News and Bloomberg Businessweek; and Brad Stone, Senior Writer, Bloomberg Businessweek.

For those who couldn’t attend, here are some takeaways to keep in your back pocket next time you’re looking for a Bloomberg placement:

  1. Want to know how to successfully pitch Emily Chang? Keep it simple: Bullets with facts and links to other content (including video) are all she needs. Skip the editorial or talk of trends.
  2. Brad Stone’s advice to getting B2B coverage: make it a compelling human interest angle. A knowledgeable, charismatic co-founder can go a long way.
  3. Bloomberg is collaborative across all channels. Whilst making a subtle dig at former employer Wall Street Journal, Rich Jaroslovsky said one of the reasons he most enjoys working at Bloomberg is that teams are “free from the tyranny of regions and TV, magazine, online – everyone works together.”
  4. And as for Jon Erlichman? The Canadian-born broadcaster said when does have the time, he really likes to get to know people and meet with them in person.
  5. Overall, the panelists agreed that they want to receive pitches and are open to story ideas. Just make sure you know what they cover before pushing send on that email.

Overall, a smashing success—and we’re already looking onward and beginning to plan the next event. Stay tuned – next event we go inside the newsroom of All Things D at Facebook’s headquarters. The event will take place August 28—we hope you’ll join us!


L-R: Vanessa Yanez, Danielle Coan and Emily Horn
Rich Jaroslovsky and Emelyne Interior
Rich Jaroslovsky, Brad Stone, Jon Erlichman and Emily Chang with Vanessa Yanez Event sign at Microsoft
Katie Sarro and Tom Suiter L-R: Tim Rathschmidt, Emily Horn, Camelia Gendreau, Vanessa Yanez, Emelyne Interior and Katie Sarro
17 responses to “Summer Series Starts Out with a Bang

  1. Hi, this weekend is nice designed for me, because this occasion i am reading this great educational paragraph here at my home.

  2. First off I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question that I’d
    like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your head before writing.
    I’ve had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips?

    Thank you!

  3. I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I am
    not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my
    difficulty. You are amazing! Thanks!

  4. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of
    your useful info. Thanks for the post. I
    will definitely comeback.

  5. My family members every time say that I am wasting my time here at web, but I know I
    am getting familiarity everyday by reading such pleasant posts.

  6. I feel that is one of the so much significant information for me.
    And i am happy reading your article. However should statement
    on few common issues, The web site taste is great, the articles is really nice : D.
    Good task, cheers

  7. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Many thanks, However I am experiencing issues with your RSS.

    I don’t understand the reason why I cannot join it.
    Is there anybody else getting similar RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer can you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  8. It’s awesome in favor of me to have a web page, which is beneficial for
    my experience. thanks admin

  9. whoah this weblog is wonderful i love reading your posts.

    Keep up the great work! You already know, many persons are hunting around for this info, you can help them greatly.

  10. I constantly spent my half an hour to read this web site’s posts daily along with a cup of coffee.

  11. Useful information. Lucky me I discovered your site unintentionally, and I’m stunned why this
    coincidence didn’t took place in advance! I bookmarked it.

  12. Very good blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a
    free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so
    many choices out there that I’m completely confused ..

    Any tips? Many thanks!

  13. I think this is among the most vital info for me. And i am glad reading
    your article. But should remark on few general things, The
    web site style is great, the articles is really excellent : D.
    Good job, cheers

  14. This post provides clear idea for the new people of blogging, that
    in fact how to do blogging.

  15. I constantly spent my half an hour to read this web site’s content every day along with a
    cup of coffee.

  16. A fascinating discussion is worth comment. I believe that you need to
    write more about this subject, it might not be a taboo subject but typically people don’t talk about these issues.
    To the next! Best wishes!!

  17. This site was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something
    which helped me. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

